Flappy Bird creator to release new game and guess what?!

13»

Comments

• ImNiklasImNiklas Member Posts: 103

Cloning is great for learning, but I do agree that you should not publish an exact clone of another persons game. I do however encourage spin-offs as they can add something new and positve to the users experience. For example, 2048 was actually a spin-off of the not quite as popular game "Threes!". I tried both games and I enjoyed 2048 so much more!

That's just how I see it, but everyone has different opinions.

• gingagaminggingagaming FREELANCE GS DEV Member Posts: 1,685
    edited August 2014

To be honest and opening a massive tin of worms @Socks‌ are you EVER HAPPY? All you do is bloody moan!

• SocksSocks London, UK.Member Posts: 12,822
    edited August 2014

@raycur09 said:
    Im fairly new to being a pro user, but for a while now all i see in the forums is " template of this" or "template of that".It boggled my mind for the longest as to why this is allowed . . .

Agreed, although plagiarism happens in pretty much every walk of life to some degree, music, fashion, technology and so on, rarely is it so endemic and so accepted as in mobile gaming, it's become part of the culture now, it's seen as perfectly acceptable - normal even - to wholesale steal someone else's work, right down to the font, and sell it on the open market to absolutely anyone who wants to throw together a rip-off and cash in on your hard work, your creativity, your ideas, your design, your characters, months, perhaps even years, of hard work, sleepless nights, financial investment in artwork, music, illustrations (and so on) . . . people seem to feel zero compunction in simply helping themselves to other people's work, some even making a bussiness of it.