From the Devs: New and Improved GameSalad iPhone Publishing

2»

Comments

• Rob2Rob2 Member Posts: 2,402
    I'm an eejit...cheers
  • SkyLennardSkyLennard Member Posts: 6
    As a developer, I also agree that having the *option* to get the xCode project is worthwhile to keep. I like the streamlined process, but if I wanted to integrate something else into my games that's not part of the GS engine, now I'm out of luck. Although I hadn't tried it, before I would have at least had that option. How hard would it be to add a menu item to export to xCode... or a checkbox in the export dialog or something?

+1 for adding this functionality back in, but not as a primary export function

GS: I think you guys can learn a lot about your user base with discussions like this -- I for one am a *developer/coder*, but I am always interested in new ways to accomplish what I am trying to do, especially ways that make things easier, faster and more efficient... hence my interest in the GS engine. I am also expecting to build a couple of games at the $99 level and sell them on the app store, and when/if I make enough to cover the cost of upgrading to pro, I'll do it - gladly reinvest my income to my craft. I'm not going to pay 'up front' for the pro version, however, until I see at least some success with the engine at the $99 level. In the mean time, I'm still using the 'free' version until I'm ready to release a game.
  • firemaplegamesfiremaplegames Member Posts: 3,211
    It is my understanding, that although they used to give you an xCode project, that it was
    "locked", and couldn't be edited anyway. Otherwise you would have access to all of gameSalad's code.

You could only edit the info.plist, etc...
    Which I believe you can still do with the .app bundle?
    @Rob2 - did you figure out how to get the xCode back down from the site or something?