Please Help, i'm a Noob.

Hi!! I am making a hidden object game, so far everything is going well. The issue I am having now is that: I have an object and the name of the object that I want to both disappear from my game screen when the object is found/touched. How do I make them both disappear at the same time? HELP!!!!!! please. TY

Comments

• bob loblawbob loblaw Member, PRO Posts: 793

you need to be more specific. are you talking about text within an actor? are you talking about two separate actors?

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

(1) Add the display text for the name of the object to the object actor instead. Set it’s offset position so that it appears below (or wherever you want) the actor.

Or

(2) assign the object actor and the label actor a unique ID (integer attribute) that matches for each pair. When the object actor is to be hidden/destroyed, have it change a game attribute to its own ID. Have a rule in the label actor that says if self.ID=game.ID then hide/destroy.

You’ll find option #1 is a lot easier to manage!

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• mismatchedmisfitzmismatchedmisfitz Member Posts: 8
    edited December 2019

Great! Thanks Tatiang! To set that offset position, would I do that from within the display text box by playing around with the Horizontal and vertical positions?

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949
    edited December 2019

@mismatchedmisfitz said:
    Great! Thanks Tatiang! To set that offset position, would I do that from within the display text box by playing around with the Horizontal and vertical positions?