Actor/instance deleted from scene, because Layers is open

JB makin' a gameJB makin' a game Member, BASIC Posts: 39
edited September 2018 in Help Wanted

In the 10 second video below, you see how I select a Change Attribute while the Layers is open. Of course, the actor that contains this behavior is selected in Layers. When I want to delete this behavior (or any kind of rule, group, etc) it seems like it performs the actions for the open Layers tab, because it deletes the entire Actor/instance from the scene.
Alright, that's annoying, so I tried deleting stuff when another Tab was open, like Actors or Scenes and the strangest thing happens. Sometimes it deletes the actor/instance from the scene, like in the video below. But sometimes it doesn't! However, if Layers is open, it always deletes the actor... It doesn't matter whether a prototype or an instance is selected.
Granted, I have no significant knowledge of computers or coding (otherwise why use GameSalad, right ^^), but I've tried this numerous times, each time doing exactly the same. But the outcome is different, having a small bias towards deleting the actor. GS just can't stand my actors, it seems.

Anyway, I wonder why this is happening and whether it's a bug or if there's something I can do to make sure this doesn't happen. As you can imagine, it's kind of hard to use this program if you can't delete anything, when you started using it past July.

Comments

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949

I'm not quite understanding the video. It looks like you had an actor selected and then you did something (pressed the delete key?) and it was deleted. I think I'm missing something because it doesn't appear that you selected a behavior.

New to GameSalad? (FAQs)   |   Tutorials   |   Templates   |   Greenleaf Games   |   Educator & Certified GameSalad User

• JB makin' a gameJB makin' a game Member, BASIC Posts: 39
    edited September 2018