Getting a good Jump

YanayayaYanayaya Member Posts: 1

Hi everyone,

I'm new to game salad but have been working through the School of Interactive Designs training modules. What I wanted to know about was jumping, it's a question I've seen darted about in various places but those questions don't really cover what I need to know. My question is: I have a character that jumps when you touch the screen when you touch a button and you do so to avoid on coming obstacles. How do I make it so that if you keep your finger on the button the character doesn't just hover over everything? I tried applying a timer but it didn't seem to work.

Many thanks

A

Comments

• SmokeyAce73SmokeyAce73 EarthMember Posts: 370

Use when touch is released not when touch is down

Developer For BLUNTentertainment - Feel Free To Message Me! - Free Beginner Templates!

• stueynetstueynet TorontoMember Posts: 166

@Yanayaya said:
    Hi everyone,

I'm new to game salad but have been working through the School of Interactive Designs training modules. What I wanted to know about was jumping, it's a question I've seen darted about in various places but those questions don't really cover what I need to know. My question is: I have a character that jumps when you touch the screen when you touch a button and you do so to avoid on coming obstacles. How do I make it so that if you keep your finger on the button the character doesn't just hover over everything? I tried applying a timer but it didn't seem to work.

Many thanks

A

Sometimes you want to have the player jump when touch is pressed not released so here is another solution.

1) Make sure you have a force on the character keeping him on the ground. Either scene gravity or use an accelerate behaviour on him (I recommend the accelerate behaviour)