Phone call access

I am not a programmer, I am a Samsung Hub game buyer. I buy many, many Hidden object games. I recently bought a Samsung Galaxy 4 for the bigger screen. I just contacted the game programmer (Pig Out Productions) who uses Gamesalad to make the games I'd like to purchase, but after reading the APP purchasing requirements have decided I needed a more in depth answer to my requirement question than they gave me.
Their answer was that their games are made with Gamesalad game programming, and that Gamesalad lists the APP permissions for the games being programmed. They assured me that Gamesalad only accesses the internet for crash reporting and they understood if I chose not to purchase their games. So I signed up to this site to hopefully get the answer to my question.

I would like to know why, in the APP purchasing permissions does it require the APP to have access to MONITOR, RECORD, and PROCESS my phone calls?
Why would Gamesalad games need to have access to my personal cell phone calls, and how is that even legal?
A detailed answer would be appreciated, or I just saved a ton of money and will just continue to buy APPS from ITunes for my Itouch.
Thanks, LadyO

Comments

• jonmulcahyjonmulcahy Member, Sous Chef Posts: 10,408
    I've understood that the READ_PHONE_STATE access is used to determine if a phone call comes in so the app can properly pause. it's not doing anything nefarious. you can check out this thread of details of what information IS collected:

http://forums.gamesalad.com/discussion/61902/updated-privacy-policy-and-data-collection-summary#latest

• tatiangtatiang Member, Sous Chef, PRO, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 11,949