No audio when running HTML5 App in Safari......

MoXoMMoXoM Member Posts: 8
Hi,

I'm posting this discussion again because I think I posted it in the wrong forum...

I've published my first ever app (currently work in progress) to GameSalad Arcade and currently have it embedded into my website.

It is a very simple random number generator called Randomings which takes two numbers from the user (between 1 and 1000) then generates a random number for them. It can be found at www.halabalu.com

I'm only starting out in app/game development so I thought this app would be a great way to start out (better than "Hello World").... =)

Although the App works fine whilst testing it in the web preview section of Creator, as soon as I upload the app to GameSalad Arcade, the audio disappears. The audio works fine in Google Chrome and Firefox but not Safari (including iOS).

Any idea why this is? It is really starting to bug me!!

Thanks in advance for your help.

Regards,

Mo.

Comments

• HoneyTribeStudiosHoneyTribeStudios Member Posts: 1,792
    Chrome and Firefox will be better equipped for HTML5. It's up to each browser to make them html5 compliant. Some will be behind and won't be fully compatible. As I understand it sounds is typically a problem in some browsers.

I don't think the standards have been finalized for HTML5 yet so it's still a young technology.

More info here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTML5#Standardization_process
  • MoXoMMoXoM Member Posts: 8
    Thanks for the reply!

I had a feeling this would be the case - just annoying since Safari is my preferred browser and is standard on iOS devices.

The thing I find confusing is that I can play games created by other people on GameSalad Arcade and the audio works fine.

My App only uses 3 MP3 files!!!

Hopefully this can be resolved asap.

Regards,

Mo.
  • HoneyTribeStudiosHoneyTribeStudios Member Posts: 1,792
    Ah, well if it works on other GS games in Safari then I may be wrong! :)