[License] When you hire an artist

mangaroomangaroo Member Posts: 419
Hi guys, I was wondering in situations where you have paid an artist to do for example a character or background for your game, did you draw up some sort of agreement on how the pictures will be used, or is enough to write it in paypal description of payment? Planning ahead a little but hiring my first few artists and couldn't find too much information about contracts etc, was wondering what you guys did

Comments

• DimensionGamesDimensionGames PRO Posts: 993
    As a small independent developer I didn't feel the need for a contract with the artist I hired and am in the process of hiring another. I wouldn't worry in my experience artists feel once you've paid its yours to do with what you like. Hopefully someone with slightly more experience with artists can help you out.

Cheers.
  • osucowboy18osucowboy18 Member Posts: 1,307
    I have never signed, or made my artist sign a contract. The deal we have worked out is I'll pay half up front through a PayPal invoice, and after I say everything is done, I pay him the second half. I don't think you will have an issue if you don't have your artist sign a contract. Good luck :)

- Alex
  • tenrdrmertenrdrmer Member, Sous Chef, Senior Sous-Chef Posts: 9,934
    To be completely technical and legally safe, you need it. And honestly it protects both parties. However it is not required by law that you have it so if you trust your guy you will probably never have problem. It's just one of those things where you can go on pure trust or you can feel a little safer by having a contract. I know several people on here that don't have an contracts even for revenue sharing deals. To me thats crazy, but if it works for them it works and completely legal.

___________________________________________________________________________________
    Project Help from Tenrdrmer Click Here

GS BubbleBall Template HERE!!
    Stacks Level Selection Template HERE!!