Game infringement

CreativeRiverCreativeRiver Member Posts: 43
Ok guys and girls!

Here`s one for you, this idea I have for a game is similar to a game on a flash game website. It`s features are slightly different and some features aren`t included.

How do I know I`m not copying or breaking any copyright laws.

I don`t wanna get sued!!!!

Thanks for all your help

Comments

• ORBZORBZ Member Posts: 1,304
    Don't copy any art/music/sound fx/or code.

Clones are perfectly normal in the games business. Look at all the C&C clones for example.

Don't make it identical, add a twist.

(i'm not a lawyer, but i see them on tv)
  • CreativeRiverCreativeRiver Member Posts: 43
    I like your answer ... " like C&C" clones... lol

Ok, so if a game on a flash website has a game on the net.

I think I can do it better for the iPhone?

Would you suggest I ask for lawyer advice before?
  • BarkBarkCoBarkBarkCo Member Posts: 1,400
    Don't bother with a lawyer. Like ORBZ said, as long as you use your own art/music/sound fx/and code, you will be fine. You don't even really need to add a "twist", but that is kind of a professional courtesy... ;-)
    Great thanks bud
  • peachpellenpeachpellen Member Posts: 977
    For a second I thought this was going to be a thread about mateen. :P
    About what Peach? lol
  • UPUP Member Posts: 70
    Go shave your balls kid!! Oh wait a sec, sorry.. wrong guy... ;-)

Personally I would be against creating anything close to an existing game...
    Want to create a platform game? sure cool, but does it need to remind people of Mario... nope, don't think so... etc
    And there's many examples of platformers still being 'original' although
    platform games have been around since the beginning of computer games..

Be sure not to create similar characters, levels, colors even.. etc etc